mirror of
https://github.com/Kornstalx/5etools-mirror-2.github.io.git
synced 2025-12-16 19:54:06 -06:00
v1.209.0
This commit is contained in:
@@ -690,10 +690,10 @@
|
||||
},
|
||||
{
|
||||
"type": "entries",
|
||||
"name": "Can a rogue use Evasion if they are {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}?",
|
||||
"name": "Can a rogue use Evasion if they are {@status surprised}?",
|
||||
"id": "04b",
|
||||
"entries": [
|
||||
"The rule states that if you are {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}, you can't move or take an action. A {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} rogue can use Evasion, since that feature doesn't require the rogue to take an action or move."
|
||||
"The rule states that if you are {@status surprised}, you can't move or take an action. A {@status surprised} rogue can use Evasion, since that feature doesn't require the rogue to take an action or move."
|
||||
]
|
||||
},
|
||||
{
|
||||
@@ -714,10 +714,10 @@
|
||||
},
|
||||
{
|
||||
"type": "entries",
|
||||
"name": "For triggering the rogue's Assassinate ability, when does a creature stop being {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}? After their turn in the round, or at the end of the round?",
|
||||
"name": "For triggering the rogue's Assassinate ability, when does a creature stop being {@status surprised}? After their turn in the round, or at the end of the round?",
|
||||
"id": "04e",
|
||||
"entries": [
|
||||
"A {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} creature stops being {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} at the end of its first turn in combat."
|
||||
"A {@status surprised} creature stops being {@status surprised} at the end of its first turn in combat."
|
||||
]
|
||||
},
|
||||
{
|
||||
@@ -1476,10 +1476,10 @@
|
||||
"id": "0a8",
|
||||
"entries": [
|
||||
"No, here's how surprise works.",
|
||||
"The first step of any combat is this: the DM determines whether anyone in the combat is {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} (reread \"{@book Combat Step by Step|PHB|9|Combat Step by Step}\" in the {@book Player's Handbook|PHB}). This determination happens only once during a fight and only at the beginning. In other words, once a fight starts, you can't be {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} again, although a hidden foe can still gain the normal benefits from being unseen (see \"{@book Unseen Attackers and Targets|PHB|9|Unseen Attackers and Targets}\" in the {@book Player's Handbook|PHB}).",
|
||||
"To be {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}, you must be caught off guard, usually because you failed to notice foes being stealthy or you were startled by an enemy with a special ability, such as the {@creature Gelatinous Cube||gelatinous cube's} Transparent trait, that makes it exceptionally surprising. You can be {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} even if your companions aren't, and you aren't {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} if even one of your foes fails to catch you unawares.",
|
||||
"If anyone is {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}, no actions are taken yet. First, initiative is rolled as normal. Then, the first round of combat starts, and the {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|unsurprised} combatants act in initiative order. A {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} creature can't move or take an action or a {@book reaction|PHB|9|Reactions} until its first turn ends (remember that being unable to take an action also means you can't take a bonus action). In effect, a {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} creature skips its first turn in a fight. Once that turn ends, the creature is no longer {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}.",
|
||||
"In short, activity in a combat is always ordered by initiative, whether or not someone is {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}, and after the first round of combat has passed, surprise is no longer a factor. You can still try to hide from your foes and gain the benefits conferred by being hidden, but you don't deprive your foes of their turns when you do so."
|
||||
"The first step of any combat is this: the DM determines whether anyone in the combat is {@status surprised} (reread \"{@book Combat Step by Step|PHB|9|Combat Step by Step}\" in the {@book Player's Handbook|PHB}). This determination happens only once during a fight and only at the beginning. In other words, once a fight starts, you can't be {@status surprised} again, although a hidden foe can still gain the normal benefits from being unseen (see \"{@book Unseen Attackers and Targets|PHB|9|Unseen Attackers and Targets}\" in the {@book Player's Handbook|PHB}).",
|
||||
"To be {@status surprised}, you must be caught off guard, usually because you failed to notice foes being stealthy or you were startled by an enemy with a special ability, such as the {@creature Gelatinous Cube||gelatinous cube's} Transparent trait, that makes it exceptionally surprising. You can be {@status surprised} even if your companions aren't, and you aren't {@status surprised} if even one of your foes fails to catch you unawares.",
|
||||
"If anyone is {@status surprised}, no actions are taken yet. First, initiative is rolled as normal. Then, the first round of combat starts, and the {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|unsurprised} combatants act in initiative order. A {@status surprised} creature can't move or take an action or a {@book reaction|PHB|9|Reactions} until its first turn ends (remember that being unable to take an action also means you can't take a bonus action). In effect, a {@status surprised} creature skips its first turn in a fight. Once that turn ends, the creature is no longer {@status surprised}.",
|
||||
"In short, activity in a combat is always ordered by initiative, whether or not someone is {@status surprised}, and after the first round of combat has passed, surprise is no longer a factor. You can still try to hide from your foes and gain the benefits conferred by being hidden, but you don't deprive your foes of their turns when you do so."
|
||||
]
|
||||
},
|
||||
{
|
||||
@@ -1495,7 +1495,7 @@
|
||||
"name": "If a wizard casts a spell like fireball during a surprise round, do the enemies get disadvantage on their saving throw?",
|
||||
"id": "0aa",
|
||||
"entries": [
|
||||
"Being {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} has no effect on saves. If you're {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised}, you can't move or take an action on your first turn of the combat and you can't take a {@book reaction|PHB|9|Reactions} until that turn ends."
|
||||
"Being {@status surprised} has no effect on saves. If you're {@status surprised}, you can't move or take an action on your first turn of the combat and you can't take a {@book reaction|PHB|9|Reactions} until that turn ends."
|
||||
]
|
||||
},
|
||||
{
|
||||
@@ -2936,7 +2936,7 @@
|
||||
"name": "If a rogue with the Assassinate feature uses a vorpal sword, isn't the surprise attack an instant kill?",
|
||||
"id": "137",
|
||||
"entries": [
|
||||
"No. A {@item vorpal sword} requires you to roll a 20 on the attack roll to decapitate someone. A rogue with the Assassin archetype that attacks a {@quickref Surprise|PHB|3|0|surprised} target using a {@item vorpal sword} scores an automatic critical hit if the attack roll is successful, but unless the attack roll was a 20, the target gets to keep its head."
|
||||
"No. A {@item vorpal sword} requires you to roll a 20 on the attack roll to decapitate someone. A rogue with the Assassin archetype that attacks a {@status surprised} target using a {@item vorpal sword} scores an automatic critical hit if the attack roll is successful, but unless the attack roll was a 20, the target gets to keep its head."
|
||||
]
|
||||
},
|
||||
{
|
||||
|
||||
Reference in New Issue
Block a user